New pres., VP and legislators take their seats

UPDATE: Originally this story reported that three of the five newly elected committee chairs are members of Tau Kappa Epsilon. The correct number is two out of five, as it now reads.

Brandon Gustafson and Amy Ring were sworn in as student body president and student body vice president by former student body president Kristin Dayag Monday.

They pledged to uphold the Oakland University Student Congress mission statement, Constitution and bylaws.

This began the inaugural OUSC meeting, held at 4 p.m. in Gold Room C, under the newly-elected Gustafson/Ring administration and was the last general body meeting of the school year.

The 16 legislators who were voted in during the student elections were also sworn in. Two additional legislators, Daud Yar and Tom Cruz, were approved at the meeting as well.

Yar is a senior with a major in philosophy and a minor in journalism. He currently hosts two shows on WXOU radio.

Cruz, a junior double majoring in political science and history, has served in OUSC for the last three years and is a member of Tau Kappa Epsilon.

He noted his involvement in the fraternity, as well as the involvement of many other OUSC members that are brothers of TKE. Gustafson is also a member of TKE.

Gustafson gave the first reading of the proposed summer budget, which includes executive board compensation, a summer retreat, operational costs and various OUSC initiatives. The proposed budget runs $53,450.

With a carryover of $35,000 from last year, OUSC has $58,000 total available funds.

After Ring read over the job descriptions of all the committee chairs, she opened the floor for discussion before the legislature went into a vote.

Brett McIsaac was approved as judiciary chair, Hawra Abogilal as research and review chair, James Kaminski as scholarship chair, Andrew Gustafsson as steering chair and Shakita Billy as congressional archivist.

Two of the five committee chairs are members of TKE.