2 new Board of Trustees members appointed

By Kevin Graham

Oakland University’s recently empty Board of Trustees spots have been filled.

Gov. Rick Snyder appointed Dennis Pawley and Scott Kunselman to the BOT Tuesday afternoon. Both will serve eight-year terms that will expire on Aug. 11, 2020.

Pawley replaces former Chairperson Henry Baskin, while Kunselman takes over the seat of Trustee Jacqueline Long.

Michael Kramer will serve as the board’s new chair.

Both Pawley and Kunselman have worked in the private sector at Chrysler Group. Pawley previously worked as the company’s executive vice president for worldwide manufacturing while Kunselman was made Chrysler’s senior vice president for purchasing and supplier quality in April 2012.

Pawley had previously served on Oakland University’s Board of Trustees from 1996-98, was reappointed in 2002, served as vice chair for the 2004-06 and was appointed chair in August 2006. He co-founded the Pawley Lean Learning Institute in 2002 and is the namesake of Dennis and Carlotta Pawley Hall.

Kramer spoke of the experience Pawley will bring to the BOT.

“Dennis Pawley’s long service and commitment to Oakland University is truly a testament to his tireless dedication,” said Kramer, who had previously served as vice chair. “As an alumnus, friend, donor and former board chair, he is uniquely positioned to bring a broad base of institutional knowledge and strategic thinking to our board.”

Kramer said Kunselman will bring energy to his position.

“His critical thinking skills and commitment to quality will stand Oakland in good stead,” he said.

The Oakland Post will continue to update this story as more information becomes available.