Taylor Swift drops tracklist for new album ‘Midnights‘

On Oct. 7th, Taylor Swift unveiled the final track title for her upcoming 13 song album “Midnights — the reveal taking place 13 nights before the album release, in true Swift fashion.

“Midnights” will mark Swift’s tenth album of her career — her first body of new work since 2020’s “Evermore” — a welcomed surprise given her current project of re-recording and re-releasing her old albums.

The reveal took place during the final episode of Swift’s 13 episode TikTok series “Midnights Mayhem with Me,” where the artist took on the role of the most famous bingo caller in the world by having each randomly rolled ping pong ball correspond to a track from the album.

I will say, I was in attendance for each midnight release and thoroughly enjoyed the elevator music, grainy camera quality and fantastic 70s inspired outfits and backdrops. I am very into this new vibe from her — aesthetic and content alike.

After its surprise announcement at this year’s VMAs, Swift described the album as “a collection of music written in the middle of the night, a journey through terrors and sweet dreams.” 

That — only slightly — gut wrenching statement posted alongside a photo of her distressingly folded over a chair in a dimly lit room told me exactly what I am in for with this album: pain.

I am so intrigued by this unique, almost collage-like concept for an album, and I don’t know if I have ever consumed something like it before. 

Diving into that all too familiar haunting creativity that looms over restless nights — when your mind races and takes you places it doesn’t usually dare to go — is an idea I feel like I’ve always wanted to explore, but never knew I needed. It’s an experience that everyone can connect with on a deeply human level.

And given that Swift counts track three, “Anti-Hero” — a song she sums up as a “guided tour of all the things [she] hates about herself” — as one of her favorite songs she has ever written, I feel like this will be a very therapeutic album. A journey of self acceptance through honesty.

With just that little taste, I am so intrigued to hear “the stories of 13 sleepless nights scattered throughout [Swift’s] life.”

Midnights comes out Oct. 21st.

The full album tracklist is as follows:

  1. Lavender Haze
  2. Maroon
  3. Anti-Hero
  4. Snow on the Beach ft. Lana Del Rey
  5. You’re on Your Own, Kid
  6. Midnight Rain
  7. Question…?
  8. Vigilante Shit
  9. Bejeweled
  10. Labyrinth
  11. Karma
  12. Sweet Nothing
  13. Mastermind