5SOS announces fifth album release date, tracklist


5SOS5 is set to be released on September 23, 2022.

Attention 5SOS fans (did we ever come up with a fandom name?) — the moment is finally here. Australian pop-rock band 5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) have finally released the name and release date for their fifth album. 

The ‘Youngblood’ quartet consisting of Luke Hemmings, Ashton Irwin, Calum Hood and Michael Clifford have been teasing their fifth album since the start of 2021, and have even played one of their unreleased songs, “Easy for You,” on their current Take My Hand tour. Many fans have been anticipating the announcement of the album — and its name, with many wanting it to be called “5SOS5.”

Our wish has been granted, as the album name and date have been released — 5SOS5 will drop on September 23, 2022. 

In a series of (agonizingly slow) tweets from the band’s official Twitter account, the band began releasing the tracklist for 5SOS5. It was released in an order of every 30 minutes, as well as in different languages. The singers had to have done this to torment the fans by making us wait. 

There were 19 songs in all released on the band’s account. The first track, “Complete Mess,” was the band’s first single released from this album, followed by “Easy for You”, which they’ve played on tour.

“Me, Myself, and I” and “Take My Hand” are the other two singles that have been released, with Take My Hand replacing No Shame as the 2022 tour name. Clifford himself produced “Complete Mess” and “Take My Hand.” 

Then there are the songs we’ve yet to hear, including “Bad Omens,” written by Hemmings and Irwin, “Carousel,” written by all four boys and singer Sierra Deaton of Alex and Sierra fame, “Older,” written by Hemmings, Deaton and Clifford and “Haze,” written by all four boys.

“You Don’t Go to Parties” was written by Irwin and Hood, “Blender” and “Caramel” by Hemmings, Hood and Irwin and “Best Friends,” “Bleach” and “Red Line” each being written by all four boys. 

There are five additional songs listed as deluxe edition bonus tracks. They are “Moodswings,” written by all four boys, “Flatline,” written by Hemmings and Irwin, “Emotions,” written by Hood and Clifford, “Bloodhound,” written by all four boys and “Tears!” penned by Irwin. 

“Complete Mess” was the first single released for this new era. It was a genius way of opening the era for the boys, with Clifford producing the song and the band members writing it themselves. The boys talk about how freeing it felt going into this new era writing the music they want to write in interviews.

 “Take My Hand” was the second single released, with fans calling it a nostalgic nod to Sounds Good, Feels Good — the band’s second album, released in 2015.

“Me, Myself, and I” is their latest released single. This single is my personal favorite out of the three.

All three singles touch upon themes of relationships with others, as well as yourself. They all stand out in different ways, making fans excited for the complete album.

Personally, the three songs I’m looking forward to hearing the most from this new release are “You Don’t Go to Parties,” “Red Line” and “Caramel.”